Tomodachi is Japanese for Friend

Have you ever seen a Bunraku performance?

It’s a form of traditional Japanese Puppet Theater, I guess performed here in the West it’s slightly modified and less “traditional” – I saw one once, it was beautiful, in an outside theater, in the middle of the summer, live music… the story involved a Tsunami and I remember a love interest, a fight scene and a test of friendship.

This last week has had a theme; tremendous test of will in challenging circumstances and the most amazing examples of humanity and kindness. Unfortunately for me, no love interest.  I of course am referring to Japan being hit by one of the largest earthquakes ever recorded on March 11, and the Tsunami and nuclear disaster to follow.. and In no way am I comparing the two but I am also talking about this last work week.

You have heard the phrase I’ve got your back, right?

Definition: An expression assuring someone that you are watching out for them. Comes from making sure you are safe by watching what’s behind you when you’re busy looking ahead.

Attached is a video explanation:

http://news.yahoo.com/s/yblog_thelookout/dog-in-japan-stays-by-the-side-of-its-ailing-friend-in-the-rubble

I want to say thank you to the people that “got my back” this week (*ah hem) Clayton and Michael and to all of you that always get my back…you know who you are. I truly hope to always return the favor.

Thank you to everyone helping with all of the pain and uncertainty in Japan right now. If it’s donating to a cause, volunteering or just keeping the people of Japan in your thoughts…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

